It is our pleasure to welcome you to the tenth edition of the International Conference on Signal Processing and Communications (SPCOM). The biennial SPCOM conference series, which began in 1990, is now widely acknowledged to be a premier conference in India covering the fields of signal processing and communications. In its present incarnation, it blends a high-quality contributed program with a large number of invited talks, thus providing students and researchers in Indian academia and industry exposure to world-class, cutting-edge research.


There was a record number of paper submissions (410) to SPCOM 2014, which is nearly double the number submitted to the previous edition of SPCOM in 2012. This is a testament to the fact that research activity within India has picked up considerably over the last two or three years. This is also borne out by the increased number of paper submissions reported by other national and international conferences held in India. This trend seems to be a direct result of the increased emphasis being put on research publications by the administrations of the IITs and the NITs, as well as other colleges and universities, both private and public. While this bodes well for the country, there is still room for improvement in the overall quality of the research output.


The 2014 edition of SPCOM features three plenary and thirty-eight invited speakers from around the world. Six tutorials on topics of current interest have been organized on the first day of the conference. We also accepted 91 contributed papers this time, the final acceptance rate being about 22%. The proceedings of the conference have been made available in CD form, and will also be accessible via IEEEXplore.


The success of SPCOM depends on the efforts of the various organizing committees and the volunteers from among the students and staff at IISc. We sincerely thank all the committee chairs and members for doing a stellar job with the various aspects of organizing a major conference. In particular, we applaud the efforts of the technical program committee in putting together an excellent technical program. We also would like to express our gratitude to our army of student and staff volunteers for ensuring the smooth running of the conference. Finally, we extend our thanks to the sponsors whose financial contributions made this conference possible.


With these words, we invite you to enjoy SPCOM 2014.



    Chock Photo   kashyap navin With best wishes,

     A. Chockalingam and Navin Kashyap
     General Co-Chairs, SPCOM 2014





It gives us great pleasure to welcome you to the 2014 International Conference on Signal Processing and Communications – more affectionately, SPCOM 2014. This is the 10th conference in the series, so we are particularly happy that SPCOM has reached 2-digit number of editions. The reputation of past SPCOMs made it surprisingly easy to put together an astonishing array of plenary, tutorial, and invited speakers.


We are delighted to have Prof. Wei Yu, U. of Toronto, Dr. Kumar Sivarajan, CTO, Tejas Networks, and Prof. Gregory Wornell, MIT, giving plenary talks. In addition, we have 38 invited talks from 11 countries other than India. We will also have 6 tutorials on recent topics of research.


Some statistics: this year, we had record number of 410 submitted papers. Of these, 354 made it to the review stage and were assigned to at least 3 reviewers each. In many cases, we were able to obtain as many as 6 reviews. The detailed nature of the reviews made the decision-making rather easy! We finally accepted 91 papers, resulting in an acceptance ratio of about 22%. Of these, 75 will be presented as oral talks, and the remaining will be presented as posters. There is no distinction in the quality of the oral and poster papers. The classification is purely based on matching papers to topics in corresponding sessions.


We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the TPC members and reviewers for their timely efforts. We also thank the student volunteer teams who deserve most of the real credit for running SPCOM. Rahul Vaze and Chandra Sekhar Seelamantula have put together a great array of tutorials. Mohit Sharma put together and maintained the conference webpage, often handling multiple parallel requests from TPC members at short notice. Suma T. C. and Srinivasa Murthy helped in a million ways with the local arrangements.


Last, but not least, we thank you – the authors, presenters, and attendees at SPCOM 2014. This conference belongs to you, and the success of SPCOM is ultimately because of your contribution! We look forward to personally interacting with many of you during the conference, and wish you an enjoyable SPCOM 2014!

With best regards,  

Chandra Murthy, Andrew Thangaraj, and Bhaskar Rao

TPC Co-Chairs, SPCOM 2014